Skip to main content
Ontario Tech acknowledges the lands and people of the Mississaugas of Scugog Island First Nation.

We are thankful to be welcome on these lands in friendship. The lands we are situated on are covered by the Williams Treaties and are the traditional territory of the Mississaugas, a branch of the greater Anishinaabeg Nation, including Algonquin, Ojibway, Odawa and Pottawatomi. These lands remain home to many Indigenous nations and peoples.

We acknowledge this land out of respect for the Indigenous nations who have cared for Turtle Island, also called North America, from before the arrival of settler peoples until this day. Most importantly, we acknowledge that the history of these lands has been tainted by poor treatment and a lack of friendship with the First Nations who call them home.

This history is something we are all affected by because we are all treaty people in Canada. We all have a shared history to reflect on, and each of us is affected by this history in different ways. Our past defines our present, but if we move forward as friends and allies, then it does not have to define our future.

Learn more about Indigenous Education and Cultural Services

2020-2021 Members of the Board of Governors

Mitch Frazer, Chancellor
Steven Murphy, President and Vice-Chancellor
Dietmar ReinerBoard Chair and governor appointed by the Lieutenant Governor in Council (LGIC)
Azzam Abu-Rayash (elected Student Governor)
Liqun Cao (elected Teaching Staff Governor)
Kevin Chan
Stephanie Chow, Chair of Investment Committee
Lisa Edgar
Laura Elliott, Vice-Chair, and Chair of Audit and Finance Committee
Douglas Ellis, LGIC governor
Francis Garwe
Ran Hao, LGIC governor
Ferdinand Jones (elected Teaching Staff Governor)
Kori Kingsbury
Thorsten Koseck, Chair of Strategy and Planning Committee
Dale MacMillan
Mark Neville (elected Administrative Staff Governor)
Maria SarosVice-Chair, and Chair of Governance, Nominations and Human Resources Committee
Kim Slade
Trevin Stratton
Roger Thompson
Jim Wilson, Co-Populous Governor
Lynne Zucker