Skip to main content
Ontario Tech acknowledges the lands and people of the Mississaugas of Scugog Island First Nation.

We are thankful to be welcome on these lands in friendship. The lands we are situated on are covered by the Williams Treaties and are the traditional territory of the Mississaugas, a branch of the greater Anishinaabeg Nation, including Algonquin, Ojibway, Odawa and Pottawatomi. These lands remain home to many Indigenous nations and peoples.

We acknowledge this land out of respect for the Indigenous nations who have cared for Turtle Island, also called North America, from before the arrival of settler peoples until this day. Most importantly, we acknowledge that the history of these lands has been tainted by poor treatment and a lack of friendship with the First Nations who call them home.

This history is something we are all affected by because we are all treaty people in Canada. We all have a shared history to reflect on, and each of us is affected by this history in different ways. Our past defines our present, but if we move forward as friends and allies, then it does not have to define our future.

Learn more about Indigenous Education and Cultural Services

Contact us

General Enquiries
905-721-3173

Sara Gottlieb
General Counsel
sara.gottlieb@ontariotechu.ca

Barb Hamilton
Legal Executive Assistant
905-721-8668 x6707
barbara.hamilton@ontariotechu.ca

Lauren Turner
University Secretary
Lauren.turner@ontariotechu.ca

Grace O'Malley
Legal Counsel
905-721-8668 x6217
legal@ontariotechu.ca

Niall O’Halloran
Policy and Compliance Advisor
905-721-8668 x6705
recordsmanagement@ontariotechu.ca
policy@ontariotechu.ca
accessandprivacy@ontariotechu.ca

Andrew Sunstrum
Director, Human Rights Office
Telephone: 905-721-8668 x 5639
Andrew.sunstrum@ontariotechu.ca

Jill Treen-Reber
Human Rights Advisor
humanrights@ontariotechu.ca

John O'Reilly
Senior Labour and Employment Counsel 
John.O'Reilly@ontariotechu.ca
Telephone:  905-721-8668 x 5661