Skip to main content
Ontario Tech acknowledges the lands and people of the Mississaugas of Scugog Island First Nation.

We are thankful to be welcome on these lands in friendship. The lands we are situated on are covered by the Williams Treaties and are the traditional territory of the Mississaugas, a branch of the greater Anishinaabeg Nation, including Algonquin, Ojibway, Odawa and Pottawatomi. These lands remain home to many Indigenous nations and peoples.

We acknowledge this land out of respect for the Indigenous nations who have cared for Turtle Island, also called North America, from before the arrival of settler peoples until this day. Most importantly, we acknowledge that the history of these lands has been tainted by poor treatment and a lack of friendship with the First Nations who call them home.

This history is something we are all affected by because we are all treaty people in Canada. We all have a shared history to reflect on, and each of us is affected by this history in different ways. Our past defines our present, but if we move forward as friends and allies, then it does not have to define our future.

Learn more about Indigenous Education and Cultural Services

Composition of the Board

Section 8(1) of the UOIT Act provides that there shall be a Board of Governors of the University, consisting of not more than 25 members, as follows:

(a) the President, by virtue of office;

(b) the Chancellor, by virtue of office;

(c) three members appointed by the Lieutenant Governor in Council;

(d) at least 12 and not more than 16 members, as determined by the Board from time to time, appointed by the Board, at least six of whom shall be members of the Board of Governors of the College but who are not employees or students of the College; and

(e) four members who are students or employees of the university and who are elected by the relevant constituencies of the university.