Skip to main content

Mitch Frazer, O.Ont., LL.D., Chancellor

Mitch Frazer

Mitch Frazer is Ontario Tech University’s fourth Chancellor.

A distinguished lawyer, Dr. Frazer is the Managing Partner of the Toronto office of Mintz.  Previously, he served as chair of the Pensions and Employment Practice of an international law firm based in Toronto.  His practice focuses on all aspects of pension, benefits and employment law.

His involvement in education includes co-founding the National Institute on Ageing at Toronto Metropolitan University (TMU); he is also a former Adjunct Professor at the University of Toronto Faculty of Law, and a published author.

He is a member and former Chair of the Toronto French School Board of Directors, Vice-Chair of the North York General Board of Governors and Chair of the Western Law Advisory Council.  He is also the immediate past Chair of TMU’s Board of Governors, and a former member of the Ontario Science Centre Board of Trustees.

In 2019, Canadian Lawyer magazine named him as one of the 25 most influential lawyers in Canada.  He has received a number of awards and honours, including the Queen Elizabeth II Diamond Jubilee Medal, the Ontario Bar Association’s Award of Excellence in Pension and Benefits Law and an Honorary Doctor of Laws from TMU.  In 2022 he was also appointed to the Order of Ontario.

He is an avid runner and has completed all six Abbott World Marathon Majors.