Skip to main content
Ontario Tech acknowledges the lands and people of the Mississaugas of Scugog Island First Nation.

We are thankful to be welcome on these lands in friendship. The lands we are situated on are covered by the Williams Treaties and are the traditional territory of the Mississaugas, a branch of the greater Anishinaabeg Nation, including Algonquin, Ojibway, Odawa and Pottawatomi. These lands remain home to many Indigenous nations and peoples.

We acknowledge this land out of respect for the Indigenous nations who have cared for Turtle Island, also called North America, from before the arrival of settler peoples until this day. Most importantly, we acknowledge that the history of these lands has been tainted by poor treatment and a lack of friendship with the First Nations who call them home.

This history is something we are all affected by because we are all treaty people in Canada. We all have a shared history to reflect on, and each of us is affected by this history in different ways. Our past defines our present, but if we move forward as friends and allies, then it does not have to define our future.

Learn more about Indigenous Education and Cultural Services

Academic Council Members 2018 - 2019

Name Position Term
Ex-Officio Members
Noreen Taylor Chancellor
Steven Murphy1 President (Chair)
Robert Bailey1 & 2 Provost & VP Academic
Doug Holdway2 Academic Administrator Responsible for Research
Glenn Harvel Academic Administrator Responsible for Quality Enhancement
Langis Roy1 Dean Graduate Studies
Catherine Davidson University Librarian
Joe Stokes Registrar
Michael Bliemel Dean of Business & Information Technology
Maurice DiGiuseppe2 Dean of Education
Akira Tokuhiro Dean of Energy Systems & Nuclear Science
Tarlochan Sidhu Dean of Engineering & Applied Science
Lori Livingston Dean of Health Science
Greg Crawford Dean of Science
Peter Stoett Dean of Social Science & Humanities
Olivia Petrie Senior Administrator Responsible for Student Life
TBD Governor
Ramiro Liscano COU Academic Colleague
Elected Members
Shahram Heydari Faculty of Business & Information Technology 2021
Andrew Hogue Faculty of Business & Information Technology 2019
Ferdinand Jones Faculty of Business & Information Technology 2021
Ann LeSage Faculty of Education 2020
Hossam Gaber Faculty of Energy Systems & Nuclear Science 2021
Hossam Kishawy Faculty of Engineering & Applied Science 2019
Qusay Mahmoud Faculty of Engineering & Applied Science 2021
Atef Mohany Faculty of Engineering & Applied Science 2021
Meghann Lloyd Faculty of Health Sciences 2020
Janet McCabe Faculty of Health Sciences 2021
Elita Partosoedarso Faculty of Health Sciences 2021
Jean-Peal Desaulniers Faculty of Science 2020
Brad Easton Faculty of Science 2021
VACANT Faculty of Science
Olga Marques Faculty of Social Science & Humanities 2021
Jen Rinaldi Faculty of Social Science & Humanities 2021
Phillip Shon Faculty of Social Science & Humanities 2021
Terry Wu Faculty At-Large 2020
Kimberly Nugent Faculty At-Large 2020
Hannah Scott Faculty At-Large 2021
Andrea Kirkwood Faculty At-Large 2019
Mikael Eklund Faculty At-Large 2019
Tess Pierce Faculty At-Large 2021
Amir Mostaghim Faculty At-Large 2021
VACANT Faculty At-Large
Sai Tejus Tuppal Undergraduate Student 2019
Osama Khalid Undergraduate Student 2019
Sonia Hector Undergraduate Student 2020
Alyssa Williams Undergraduate Student 2020
Sarah Abdelmassih Graduate Student 2020
Lyndsay Woolridge Graduate Student 2020
Jessica Clarke Administrative Staff Member 2020
Brenda Gamble COU Academic Colleague Alternate 2019

1. Also holds a seat on the Academic Council Executive Committee
2. Temporary replacement