Skip to main content
Ontario Tech acknowledges the lands and people of the Mississaugas of Scugog Island First Nation.

We are thankful to be welcome on these lands in friendship. The lands we are situated on are covered by the Williams Treaties and are the traditional territory of the Mississaugas, a branch of the greater Anishinaabeg Nation, including Algonquin, Ojibway, Odawa and Pottawatomi. These lands remain home to many Indigenous nations and peoples.

We acknowledge this land out of respect for the Indigenous nations who have cared for Turtle Island, also called North America, from before the arrival of settler peoples until this day. Most importantly, we acknowledge that the history of these lands has been tainted by poor treatment and a lack of friendship with the First Nations who call them home.

This history is something we are all affected by because we are all treaty people in Canada. We all have a shared history to reflect on, and each of us is affected by this history in different ways. Our past defines our present, but if we move forward as friends and allies, then it does not have to define our future.

Learn more about Indigenous Education and Cultural Services

Academic Council Members 2016-2017

Noreen Taylor
President (Chair) Tim McTiernan
Provost (Vice-Chair) Deborah Saucier
Interim Vice-President, Research,
Innovation  & International
Douglas Holdway
Associate Provost Robert Bailey
Dean of Graduate Studies Langis Roy
University Librarian Pamela Drayson
VP External Relations & Advancement Susan McGovern
Registrar Brad MacIsaac
Dean, Business & Information Technology Pamela Ritchie
Dean, Education Michael Owen
Interim Dean, Engineering & Applied Science Hossam Kishawy
Dean, Health Sciences Lori Livingston
Dean, Energy Systems & Nuclear Science Akira Tokuhiro
Dean, Science Greg Crawford
Acting Dean, Social Science & Humanities Shahid Alvi
Faculty, Business & Information Technology Andrew Hogue
Faculty, Business & Information Technology Kamal Smimou
Faculty, Education Maurice DiGiuseppe
Faculty, Energy Systems & Nuclear ScienceFaffff Hossam Gaber
Faculty, Engineering & Applied Science Qusay Mahmoud
Faculty, Engineering & Applied Science Atef Mohany
Faculty, Health Sciences Brenda Gamble
Faculty, Science Pietro-Luciano Buono
Faculty, Science Mark Green
Faculty, Social Science & Humanities Carla Cesaroni
Faculty, Social Science & Humanities Sharon Lauricella
Faculty, At-Large Mikael Eklund
Faculty, At-Large Ramiro Liscano
Faculty, At-Large Andrea Kirkwood
Faculty, At-Large Kimberly Nugent
Faculty, At-Large Hannah Scott
Undergraduate Student Andre Pinsonnault
Undergraduate Student vacant
Graduate Student Mahmoud Shaaban
Staff Member Reem Ali
CFO (non-voting) Craig Elliott
Secretary (non-voting) Cheryl Foy