Skip to main content
Ontario Tech acknowledges the lands and people of the Mississaugas of Scugog Island First Nation.

We are thankful to be welcome on these lands in friendship. The lands we are situated on are covered by the Williams Treaties and are the traditional territory of the Mississaugas, a branch of the greater Anishinaabeg Nation, including Algonquin, Ojibway, Odawa and Pottawatomi. These lands remain home to many Indigenous nations and peoples.

We acknowledge this land out of respect for the Indigenous nations who have cared for Turtle Island, also called North America, from before the arrival of settler peoples until this day. Most importantly, we acknowledge that the history of these lands has been tainted by poor treatment and a lack of friendship with the First Nations who call them home.

This history is something we are all affected by because we are all treaty people in Canada. We all have a shared history to reflect on, and each of us is affected by this history in different ways. Our past defines our present, but if we move forward as friends and allies, then it does not have to define our future.

Learn more about Indigenous Education and Cultural Services

Members of the Board of Governors


Current term end date
Eligible for renewal/re-election
Mitch Frazer, Chancellor April 2028 Yes
Steven Murphy, President and Vice-Chancellor
Laura Elliott, Board Chair August 2024 No
Eric Agius August 2024 Yes
Ahmad Barari (elected Teaching Staff Governor) August 2024 Yes
Carla Carmichael, Chair of Audit and Finance Committee August 2024 Yes
Frank Carnevale August 2026 Yes
Matthew Mackenzie (elected Administrative Staff Governor) August 2024 Yes
Dale MacMillan August 2024 No
Lisa McBride August 2026 Yes
Michael Rencheck, LGIC Governor August 2026 Yes
Maria SarosVice-Chair, and Chair of Governance, Nominations and Human Resources Committee August 2024 No
Hannah Scott August 2026 Yes
Gaurav Singh August 2026 Yes
Kim Slade August 2026 Yes
Dwight Thompson December 2025 Yes
Roger Thompson, Vice-Chair of Audit & Finance Committee, LGIC governor July 2026 Yes
Michael Watterworth August 2024 Yes
Emily Whetung August 2026 Yes
Lynne Zucker, Vice-Chair and Chair of Strategy & Planning Committee August 2024 No