Skip to main content

Steven Murphy, President and Vice-Chancellor


Headshot of Steven Murphy

Dr. Steven Murphy joined the university as its fourth President and Vice‐Chancellor on March 1, 2018. He envisions the university as an active space to reinvent learning while championing why diversity in all forms is important. He believes experiential and co‐operative learning opportunities are fundamental training for successful careers. Dr. Murphy strives to reimagine higher learning as an ongoing pursuit that will fuel Canada’s knowledge economy. He encourages students to embrace a collaborative approach that champions diversity and strives to make society and our planet a better place.

Dr. Murphy is renowned for his organizational and human behaviour expertise across business and industry. Even more notably, his dedication to equity, diversity and inclusiveness underscores every facet of how he lives his life. Beyond the lens of race and gender, he believes firmly in the diversity of thought and ideas that underpins universities.

As Dean of the Ted Rogers School of Management at Ryerson University, Dr. Murphy transformed the school’s brand, established novel interdisciplinary programs and fostered innovative and entrepreneurial co‐op opportunities for students. Previously, he spent more than a decade in progressive academic leadership roles at Carleton University’s Sprott School of Business, as Associate Dean, Research and External. He holds an esteemed record of academic achievement awards for his work examining the role of emotions in strategic decision‐making, leadership and boards, as well as his insightful approach to student‐driven teaching.

He earned a Bachelor of Commerce (Honours) in Human Resource Management, a Master in Management Studies (with Distinction) in the Management of Technology and completed his Doctorate in Management, Organizational Behaviour, at Carleton University.

Dr. Murphy currently serves on the Board of Directors of the National Research Council of Canada; as the co-Chair of eCampus Ontario; as Chair of Council of Ontario Universities Audit and Budget Committee; as Vice-Chair of Ontario University Athletics; and as a member of Universities Canada Education Committee.