Skip to main content
Ontario Tech acknowledges the lands and people of the Mississaugas of Scugog Island First Nation.

We are thankful to be welcome on these lands in friendship. The lands we are situated on are covered by the Williams Treaties and are the traditional territory of the Mississaugas, a branch of the greater Anishinaabeg Nation, including Algonquin, Ojibway, Odawa and Pottawatomi. These lands remain home to many Indigenous nations and peoples.

We acknowledge this land out of respect for the Indigenous nations who have cared for Turtle Island, also called North America, from before the arrival of settler peoples until this day. Most importantly, we acknowledge that the history of these lands has been tainted by poor treatment and a lack of friendship with the First Nations who call them home.

This history is something we are all affected by because we are all treaty people in Canada. We all have a shared history to reflect on, and each of us is affected by this history in different ways. Our past defines our present, but if we move forward as friends and allies, then it does not have to define our future.

Learn more about Indigenous Education and Cultural Services

Board Committee Members 2016-2017

Executive Committee

Adele Imrie, Chair and Board Chair     
John McKinley, Vice-Chair
Nigel Allen, Chair of Investment Committee
Karyn Brearley, Chair of Governance, Nominations & Human Resources Committee
Tim McTiernan, President
Glenna Raymond, former Board Chair
Valarie Wafer, Chair of Strategy & Planning Committee

Audit & Finance Committee

Nigel Allen
Doug Allingham
Jeremy Bradbury
Dietmar Reiner
Mary Simpson

Governance, Nominations & Human Resources Committee

Karyn Brearley, Chair
Andrew Elrick
Francis Garwe
Jay Lefton
Mike Snow

Investment Committee

Nigel Allen, Chair
John Speers
Tyler Turecki

Strategy & Planning Committee

Valarie Wafer, Chair
Don Duval
Jay Lefton
John McKinley
Glenna Raymond
Ololade Sanusi
Bonnie Schmidt
John Speers
Mary Steele
Shirley Van Nuland