Skip to main content
Ontario Tech acknowledges the lands and people of the Mississaugas of Scugog Island First Nation.

We are thankful to be welcome on these lands in friendship. The lands we are situated on are covered by the Williams Treaties and are the traditional territory of the Mississaugas, a branch of the greater Anishinaabeg Nation, including Algonquin, Ojibway, Odawa and Pottawatomi. These lands remain home to many Indigenous nations and peoples.

We acknowledge this land out of respect for the Indigenous nations who have cared for Turtle Island, also called North America, from before the arrival of settler peoples until this day. Most importantly, we acknowledge that the history of these lands has been tainted by poor treatment and a lack of friendship with the First Nations who call them home.

This history is something we are all affected by because we are all treaty people in Canada. We all have a shared history to reflect on, and each of us is affected by this history in different ways. Our past defines our present, but if we move forward as friends and allies, then it does not have to define our future.

Learn more about Indigenous Education and Cultural Services

Board Committee Membership 2021-2022

  • Executive Committee
    Dietmar Reiner, Chair and Board Chair  
    Laura Elliott, Vice-Chair & Chair of Audit & Finance Committee
    Steven Murphy, President & Vice-Chancellor
    Maria Saros, Vice-Chair & Chair of Governance, Nominations & Human Resources Committee
    Lynne Zucker, Chair of Strategy & Planning Committee
  • Audit and Finance Committee
    Laura Elliott (Chair)
    Stephanie Chow (Vice-Chair)
    Doug Ellis
    Thorsten Koseck
    Dale MacMillan
    Kim Slade
    Roger Thompson
    Dietmar Reiner, Board Chair (ex-officio)

    Steven Murphy, President (ex-officio)
  • Governance, Nominations and Human Resources Committee
    Maria Saros (Chair)
    Laura Elliott
    Francis Garwe
    Kathy Hao
    Kori Kingsbury
    Trevin Stratton
    Dietmar Reiner, Board Chair (ex-officio)

    Steven Murphy, President (ex-officio)
  • Strategy & Planning Committee
    Lynne Zucker (Chair)
    Eric Agius
    Ahmad Barari
    Carla Carmichael
    Kevin Chan
    Christopher Collins
    Matthew Mackenzie
    Joshua Sankarlal
    Jim Wilson
    Dietmar Reiner, Board Chair (ex-officio)
    Steven Murphy, President (ex-officio)