Skip to main content
Ontario Tech acknowledges the lands and people of the Mississaugas of Scugog Island First Nation.

We are thankful to be welcome on these lands in friendship. The lands we are situated on are covered by the Williams Treaties and are the traditional territory of the Mississaugas, a branch of the greater Anishinaabeg Nation, including Algonquin, Ojibway, Odawa and Pottawatomi. These lands remain home to many Indigenous nations and peoples.

We acknowledge this land out of respect for the Indigenous nations who have cared for Turtle Island, also called North America, from before the arrival of settler peoples until this day. Most importantly, we acknowledge that the history of these lands has been tainted by poor treatment and a lack of friendship with the First Nations who call them home.

This history is something we are all affected by because we are all treaty people in Canada. We all have a shared history to reflect on, and each of us is affected by this history in different ways. Our past defines our present, but if we move forward as friends and allies, then it does not have to define our future.

Learn more about Indigenous Education and Cultural Services

University of Ontario Institute of Technology logo

Procedure to Select a New Chancellor

Classification number LCG 1199.01
Framework category Legal, Compliance and Governance
Approving authority Board of Governors
Policy owner President
Approval date January 2007
Review date To be assigned
Last updated Editorial Amendments, February 18, 2020

Roles and Duties

The Chancellor is the titular head of the university and shall confer all degrees, honorary degrees, certificates and diplomas on behalf of the university.              

Under the University of Ontario Institute of Technology Act ("the Act"), the Board of Governors has the power to appoint and remove the Chancellor. The Act also stipulates that the Chancellor shall hold office for three years and that the Chancellor may be reappointed. 

Procedures to Select a New Chancellor

When a vacancy in the office of Chancellor occurs, the Board shall establish a search committee to identify an individual who possesses a distinguished record of philanthropy and public service and embodies the mission and values of the University to be appointed as Chancellor.

The search committee shall be comprised of:

  1. the President, who shall chair the committee;
  2. three members of the Board, appointed by the Board; and
  3. three members of Academic Council, appointed by Academic Council.

The search committee shall establish its own criteria and process for selection. All proceedings of the committee are confidential.

The President shall confirm the willingness of the committee's nominee to be appointed prior to bringing the report of the committee forward to the Board of Governors for approval.

The appointment of a new Chancellor shall take effect upon a date determined by the Board.

In the event that a vacancy arises in the office of the Chancellor prior to the expiry of the individual's term of office (due to resignation, death or removal of the individual holding the office of Chancellor or for any other reason), the Board shall fill such vacancy in the manner contemplated above. The process shall commence at the first Board meeting following the creation of the vacancy or if it is publicly known that a vacancy will arise, at the first Board meeting after it is so known.

The Board may appoint a Chancellor to a second consecutive term without striking a new search committee.

The President is, by virtue of his or her office, the Vice-Chancellor of the university and, in the absence of the Chancellor or when that office is vacant, the Vice-Chancellor shall act in the Chancellor's place.