Skip to main content
University of Ontario Institute of Technology logo

President Emeritus

Classification number LCG 1101
Framework category Legal, Compliance and Governance
Approving authority Board of Governors
Policy owner University Secretary
Approval date November 2006
Review date To be assigned
Last updated Editorial Amendments, February 18, 2020


To recognize former Presidents of the University for their outstanding service to the University and surrounding community


All former Presidents of the University will be designated as "President Emeritus";

The Emeritus title is honorific; it represents no entitlement to authority, rights, privileges or resources;

Notwithstanding any other element of this policy, the Board of Governors retains the authority to refuse or withdraw the Emeritus title without cause.