Skip to main content
Ontario Tech acknowledges the lands and people of the Mississaugas of Scugog Island First Nation.

We are thankful to be welcome on these lands in friendship. The lands we are situated on are covered by the Williams Treaties and are the traditional territory of the Mississaugas, a branch of the greater Anishinaabeg Nation, including Algonquin, Ojibway, Odawa and Pottawatomi. These lands remain home to many Indigenous nations and peoples.

We acknowledge this land out of respect for the Indigenous nations who have cared for Turtle Island, also called North America, from before the arrival of settler peoples until this day. Most importantly, we acknowledge that the history of these lands has been tainted by poor treatment and a lack of friendship with the First Nations who call them home.

This history is something we are all affected by because we are all treaty people in Canada. We all have a shared history to reflect on, and each of us is affected by this history in different ways. Our past defines our present, but if we move forward as friends and allies, then it does not have to define our future.

Learn more about Indigenous Education and Cultural Services

2020 Academic Council Election Timeline


Nominations Open

Monday, February 10 at 9:00 a.m.

Nomination Deadline

Monday, February 24 at 4:00 p.m.

Review of Candidate Eligibility

Tuesday, February 25 to Friday, February 28

Mandatory Student Candidates Information Meeting

Monday, March 2 - 3:30 - 4:30 p.m. in DTA 303
Tuesday, March 3 - 9:30 - 10:30 a.m. in ERC 3023

Campaign Period (if required)

Monday, March 9 at 9:00 a.m. until Wednesday, March 18 at 9:00 a.m.

Voting Period (if required)

Wednesday, March 18 at 9:00 a.m. until Friday, March 20 at 9:00 a.m.


Questions regarding the Academic Council Elections may be directed to the Office of the University Secretary & General Counsel:


Phone:                 905-721-8668, ext. 5693