Skip to main content
Ontario Tech acknowledges the lands and people of the Mississaugas of Scugog Island First Nation.

We are thankful to be welcome on these lands in friendship. The lands we are situated on are covered by the Williams Treaties and are the traditional territory of the Mississaugas, a branch of the greater Anishinaabeg Nation, including Algonquin, Ojibway, Odawa and Pottawatomi. These lands remain home to many Indigenous nations and peoples.

We acknowledge this land out of respect for the Indigenous nations who have cared for Turtle Island, also called North America, from before the arrival of settler peoples until this day. Most importantly, we acknowledge that the history of these lands has been tainted by poor treatment and a lack of friendship with the First Nations who call them home.

This history is something we are all affected by because we are all treaty people in Canada. We all have a shared history to reflect on, and each of us is affected by this history in different ways. Our past defines our present, but if we move forward as friends and allies, then it does not have to define our future.

Learn more about Indigenous Education and Cultural Services

Agenda - January 20, 2015

Tuesday, January 20, 2015
2:30-4:30 pm
DTB 524

Teleconferencing Dial In: Toll-Free: 1-877-385-4099 (in Canada & U.S.) 
Participant Passcode: 4833382#  

  1. Call to Order
  2. Agenda
  3. Chair’s Remarks
    1. Chancellor Search Committee Update
    2. Honorary Degree Committee Update
  4. Minutes of the Meeting of November 18, 2014*
  5. Business Arising from the Minutes
    1. Policy Framework Update*
    2. Academic Council Orientation Follow-up
  6. Inquiries and Communications
  7. Provost’s Remarks
  8. Committee Reports
    1. Executive Committee (Tim McTiernan)      
    2. Curriculum and Program Review Committee* (Bill Muirhead) (FOR APPROVAL)
      1. Bachelor of Engineering in Electrical Engineering – New Specialization in Smart Grid*
      2. Bachelor of Science in Computing Science – Removal of Digital Media Minor*
      3. Bachelor of Commerce – New Minor in Operations and Supply Change Management*
      4. Bachelor of Arts in Communication – New GASC Pathway*
      5. Bachelor of Arts in Communication – New Pathway with media-relevant college programs*
      6. Bachelor of Arts in Community Development and Policy Studies – New College Pathway and Bridge*
      7. Bachelor of Health Science in Medical Laboratory Science – New Pathway from Advanced Diploma in Biotechnology*
    3. Graduate Studies Committee* (Ed Waller) (FOR APPROVAL)
      1. New Graduate Diploma in Accounting*
      2. Master of Education – Replacing Portfolio with Course Only Option*
      3. External Examiner Regulation Amendments*
    4. Research Board* (Michael Owen) (FOR APPROVAL)
      1. Nomination of Research Board Members
  9. 2014 UOIT Teaching Awards* (Bill Muirhead)
  10. Risk Management Update (Cheryl Foy)
  11. Other Business
  12. Colleagues’ Exchange

Cheryl Foy, Secretary

        *    Documents attached       (P) Presentation