Skip to main content
Ontario Tech acknowledges the lands and people of the Mississaugas of Scugog Island First Nation.

We are thankful to be welcome on these lands in friendship. The lands we are situated on are covered by the Williams Treaties and are the traditional territory of the Mississaugas, a branch of the greater Anishinaabeg Nation, including Algonquin, Ojibway, Odawa and Pottawatomi. These lands remain home to many Indigenous nations and peoples.

We acknowledge this land out of respect for the Indigenous nations who have cared for Turtle Island, also called North America, from before the arrival of settler peoples until this day. Most importantly, we acknowledge that the history of these lands has been tainted by poor treatment and a lack of friendship with the First Nations who call them home.

This history is something we are all affected by because we are all treaty people in Canada. We all have a shared history to reflect on, and each of us is affected by this history in different ways. Our past defines our present, but if we move forward as friends and allies, then it does not have to define our future.

Learn more about Indigenous Education and Cultural Services

Agenda - February 24, 2015

Tuesday, February 24, 2015
2:30-4:30 pm
DTB 524 (55 Bond Street) 

Teleconferencing Dial In: Toll-Free: 1-877-385-4099 (in Canada & U.S.) 
Participant Passcode: 4833382# 

1.    Call to Order

2.    Agenda

3.    Chair’s Remarks

4.    Minutes of the Meeting of January 20, 2015*

5.    Business Arising from the Minutes

6.    Inquiries and Communications

6.1    Summary of the November 28, 2014 meeting of the Board of Governors*

7.    Provost’s Remarks

8.    Committee Reports

8.1   Executive Committee (Tim McTiernan)          

8.2   Curriculum and Program Review Committee* (Bill Muirhead) (FOR APPROVAL)

                8.2.1      Academic Standing Regulation Changes*

                8.2.2      Faculty of Education – New Adult Education and Digital Technologies (AEDT) Diploma*

       8.3   Graduate Studies Committee* (Ed Waller) (FOR APPROVAL)

                8.3.1      New UNENE Graduate Diploma in Nuclear Engineering*   

       8.4   Research Board (Michael Owen) (FOR APPROVAL)

                8.4.1      Policy on the Over-Expenditure of Research Funds*

                8.4.2      Procedures on the Over-Expenditure of Research Funds*

                8.4.3      Policy on the use of Internal Research Funds*

                8.4.4      Procedure for the use of Internal Research Funds*

9.    Other Business

9.1   Draft Procedures for the Recruitment of Senior Academic Officers, Associate Provosts and Deans 

10.  Colleagues’ Exchange

Cheryl Foy, Secretary
*    Documents attached       (P) Presentation