Skip to main content
Ontario Tech acknowledges the lands and people of the Mississaugas of Scugog Island First Nation.

We are thankful to be welcome on these lands in friendship. The lands we are situated on are covered by the Williams Treaties and are the traditional territory of the Mississaugas, a branch of the greater Anishinaabeg Nation, including Algonquin, Ojibway, Odawa and Pottawatomi. These lands remain home to many Indigenous nations and peoples.

We acknowledge this land out of respect for the Indigenous nations who have cared for Turtle Island, also called North America, from before the arrival of settler peoples until this day. Most importantly, we acknowledge that the history of these lands has been tainted by poor treatment and a lack of friendship with the First Nations who call them home.

This history is something we are all affected by because we are all treaty people in Canada. We all have a shared history to reflect on, and each of us is affected by this history in different ways. Our past defines our present, but if we move forward as friends and allies, then it does not have to define our future.

Learn more about Indigenous Education and Cultural Services


Academic Council
Tuesday, September 25, 2018
3:30-4:30 p.m.**, DTB 524

Toll-Free (Canada & U.S.): 1-877-385-4099
Participant Passcode: 1028954#

1. Call to Order

2. Agenda (A)

3. Chair’s Remarks

     (a) Senior Academic Administrator Searches (U)

     (b) University Administrative Council – Revised Structure* (I)

4. Minutes of the Meeting of June 19, 2018* (A)

5. Business Arising from the Minutes

6. Inquiries and Communications

     (a) Summary of Board of Governors Meeting of June 27, 2018*

7. Provost’s Remarks

8. Policy Consultation

     (a) Free Speech Policy* (D)(P) (Robert Bailey and Cheryl Foy)

9. Committee Reports

   9.1 Curriculum and Program Review Committee (CPRC)* (Glenn Harvel)

    9.1.1 FOR APPROVAL

     (a) Centre for Institutional Quality Enhancement - Cyclical Program Review Final Assessment Summary Reports

      (i) Bachelor of Engineering in Manufacturing Engineering*

      (ii) Bachelor of Engineering in Mechanical Engineering*

10. Executive Committee

     (a) Academic Council 2018-2019 Work Plan* (I) (Cheryl Foy)

     (b) Temporary Chair of Academic Council* (M) (Cheryl Foy)

     (c) Committee Nominations* (M) (Becky Dinwoodie)

     (d) 2018-2019 Fall Election Process* (U) (Becky Dinwoodie)

11. Other Business

12. Colleagues’ Exchange

**preceded by 1 hour Consultation Session for Provost Search

Becky Dinwoodie, Secretary

*Documents attached (A) Approval (C) Consultation (D) Discussion (I) Information (R) Recommendation