Skip to main content
Ontario Tech acknowledges the lands and people of the Mississaugas of Scugog Island First Nation.

We are thankful to be welcome on these lands in friendship. The lands we are situated on are covered by the Williams Treaties and are the traditional territory of the Mississaugas, a branch of the greater Anishinaabeg Nation, including Algonquin, Ojibway, Odawa and Pottawatomi. These lands remain home to many Indigenous nations and peoples.

We acknowledge this land out of respect for the Indigenous nations who have cared for Turtle Island, also called North America, from before the arrival of settler peoples until this day. Most importantly, we acknowledge that the history of these lands has been tainted by poor treatment and a lack of friendship with the First Nations who call them home.

This history is something we are all affected by because we are all treaty people in Canada. We all have a shared history to reflect on, and each of us is affected by this history in different ways. Our past defines our present, but if we move forward as friends and allies, then it does not have to define our future.

Learn more about Indigenous Education and Cultural Services


Tuesday, October 23, 2018
2:30-4:30 p.m., DTB 524

Toll-Free (Canada & U.S.): 1-877-385-4099
Participant Passcode: 1028954#

1. Call to Order

2. Agenda (A)

3. Chair’s Remarks

   (a) Senior Academic Administrator Searches* (U)

4. Minutes of the Meeting of September 25, 2018* (A)

5. Business Arising from the Minutes

   (a) Internally Restricted Funds* (I)

6. Inquiries and Communications

7. Provost’s Remarks

8. Policy Consultation

   (a) University Continuity Policy* (C) (Jackie Dupuis)

   (b) Use of Medical Cannabis by Students Procedure* (C) (Heather Leckey)

   (c) Freedom of Expression Policy* (C) (Robert Bailey & Cheryl Foy)

9. Committee Reports

 9.1 Curriculum and Program Review Committee & Graduate Studies Committee (Glenn Harvel & Langis Roy)

   (a) Definition of Experiential Learning & Amendments to Course Nomenclature* (A)

 9.2 Executive Committee

   (a) By-law Implementation Update* (I) (Cheryl Foy)

   (b) Expressions of Interest (Cheryl Foy & Becky Dinwoodie):

    • Academic Council Executive Committee (U)

    • Governance & Nominations Committee* (A)

   (c) 2018-2019 Fall Election* (A) (Becky Dinwoodie)

10. Registrar’s Office (Joe Stokes)

   (a) Enrolment Update* (I)

   (b) Conferral of Degrees for Summer 2018* (A)

11. Other Business

12. Colleagues’ Exchange

Becky Dinwoodie, Secretary

*Documents attached (A) Approval (C) Consultation (D) Discussion (I) Information (R) Recommendation