Skip to main content
Ontario Tech acknowledges the lands and people of the Mississaugas of Scugog Island First Nation.

We are thankful to be welcome on these lands in friendship. The lands we are situated on are covered by the Williams Treaties and are the traditional territory of the Mississaugas, a branch of the greater Anishinaabeg Nation, including Algonquin, Ojibway, Odawa and Pottawatomi. These lands remain home to many Indigenous nations and peoples.

We acknowledge this land out of respect for the Indigenous nations who have cared for Turtle Island, also called North America, from before the arrival of settler peoples until this day. Most importantly, we acknowledge that the history of these lands has been tainted by poor treatment and a lack of friendship with the First Nations who call them home.

This history is something we are all affected by because we are all treaty people in Canada. We all have a shared history to reflect on, and each of us is affected by this history in different ways. Our past defines our present, but if we move forward as friends and allies, then it does not have to define our future.

Learn more about Indigenous Education and Cultural Services

Agenda - November 15, 2016

Tuesday, November 15, 2016
2:30-4:30 p.m., DTB 524

Toll-Free (Canada & U.S.): 1-877-385-4099
Participant Passcode: 1028954#

1. Call to Order

2. Agenda (A)

3. Chair’s Remarks

4. Minutes of the Meeting of October 18, 2016*

5. Business Arising from the Minutes

6. Inquiries and Communications

6.1 COU Update (I) (R. Liscano)
6.2 Delegation Regarding Sexual Violence Policy (I) (R. Rexhmataj)

7. Provost’s Remarks

8. Budget Assumptions* (I) (D. Saucier/C. Elliott)

9. Policy on Sexual Violence for Students and Procedures for Responding to Incidents of Sexual Violence* (C) (M. Bowman)

10. Policy and Procedures to Prevent and Respond to Violence, Harassment and Discrimination in the Workplace* (C) (C. Foy)

11. Committee Reports

11.1 Curriculum and Program Review Committee* (R. Bailey)


(a) Faculty of Health Sciences - Bachelor of Health Science in Medical Laboratory Science – Minor Program Adjustment*

(b) Faculty of Social Science and Humanities - Bachelor of Arts in Forensic Psychology – Minor Program Adjustment*

(c) Faculty of Social Science and Humanities - Bachelor of Arts in Legal Studies – Minor Program Adjustment*

12. Graduate Studies Committee* (L. Roy)

12.1 Graduate Studies Regulations – Amendments

(a) Appointment of Supervisory Committee* (A)

(b) Repeating Courses* (A)

(c) English Language Proficiency* (A)


(a) Faculty of Science - Master of Science in Modelling and Computational Science – Minor Program Adjustment

(b) Faculty of Science - PhD in Modelling and Computational Science – Minor Program Adjustment

(c) QE Scholarships for Graduate Research Exchanges Internal Guidelines

(d) Ontario Graduate Fellowship Fund (OGFF) internal guidelines

13. Executive Committee

13.1 Academic Council Governance*

13.1.1 Temporary Replacement Nominations Due to Early Departures (A) (B. Dinwoodie)

13.1.2 COU Academic Colleague Alternate Nomination (A) (B. Dinwoodie)

14. Presidential Search Process (C. Foy)

14.1 Presidential Search Committee Nominees (R) (C. Foy)

15. Conferral of Degrees for Fall 2016* (A) (B. MacIsaac)

16. International Travel Policy & Procedures (I) (M. Owen)

17. Other Business

18. Colleagues’ Exchange

Becky Dinwoodie, Secretary

*Documents attached (A) Approval (C) Consultation for Advice (D) Discussion (I) Information (P) Presentation (R) Recommend to Board for approval