Skip to main content
Ontario Tech acknowledges the lands and people of the Mississaugas of Scugog Island First Nation.

We are thankful to be welcome on these lands in friendship. The lands we are situated on are covered by the Williams Treaties and are the traditional territory of the Mississaugas, a branch of the greater Anishinaabeg Nation, including Algonquin, Ojibway, Odawa and Pottawatomi. These lands remain home to many Indigenous nations and peoples.

We acknowledge this land out of respect for the Indigenous nations who have cared for Turtle Island, also called North America, from before the arrival of settler peoples until this day. Most importantly, we acknowledge that the history of these lands has been tainted by poor treatment and a lack of friendship with the First Nations who call them home.

This history is something we are all affected by because we are all treaty people in Canada. We all have a shared history to reflect on, and each of us is affected by this history in different ways. Our past defines our present, but if we move forward as friends and allies, then it does not have to define our future.

Learn more about Indigenous Education and Cultural Services

Academic Council Agenda - June 19, 2007

Academic Council
June 19, 2007
1 p.m. to 3 p.m.
Community Room


1. Chair's Remarks

2. Approval of Minutes of the Meeting of May 15, 2007 *

3. Business Arising from the Minutes

4. Inquiries and Communications

4.1 Summary of the Meeting of the Board of Governors (May 2007) *

5. Provost's Remarks

6. Report from the Academic Colleague to the Council of Ontario Universities (Brian Campbell)

6.1 Report on the Role of COU Academic Colleagues *

6.2 Academic Dishonesty: A Survey of Policies and Procedures at Ontario Universities *

7. Committee Reports:

7.1 Executive Committee (Ron Bordessa) * FOR ACTION

7.2 Curriculum and Program Review Committee (Bill Muirhead)* FOR ACTION

7.2 a Proposal for the Legal Studies Program*

7.2 b Business Plan for the Legal Studies Program*

7.3 Admissions and Scholarship Committee (Richard Levin)* FOR INFORMATION

8. Establishment of a Free-Standing University Research Ethics Board (John Perz)* FOR ACTION

9. Other Business

* Documentation Attached

Donald Wallace, Secretary