Skip to main content
Ontario Tech acknowledges the lands and people of the Mississaugas of Scugog Island First Nation.

We are thankful to be welcome on these lands in friendship. The lands we are situated on are covered by the Williams Treaties and are the traditional territory of the Mississaugas, a branch of the greater Anishinaabeg Nation, including Algonquin, Ojibway, Odawa and Pottawatomi. These lands remain home to many Indigenous nations and peoples.

We acknowledge this land out of respect for the Indigenous nations who have cared for Turtle Island, also called North America, from before the arrival of settler peoples until this day. Most importantly, we acknowledge that the history of these lands has been tainted by poor treatment and a lack of friendship with the First Nations who call them home.

This history is something we are all affected by because we are all treaty people in Canada. We all have a shared history to reflect on, and each of us is affected by this history in different ways. Our past defines our present, but if we move forward as friends and allies, then it does not have to define our future.

Learn more about Indigenous Education and Cultural Services

Vacancies on Academic Council and Committees

If you are interested in any of the following positions, please contact Becky Dinwoodie or send an e-mail to

Academic Council (meets 4th Tuesday of the month Sept - June between 2:30 - 4:30 p.m.)

  • Teaching Staff positions:
    • Science - 1 position
    • Faculty At-large - 2 positions

  • Undergraduate Student - 2 positions

Academic Council Executive Committee (meets on the 2nd Tuesday of the month Sept - June)

  • 1 student position - must be a member of Academic Council

Undergraduate Studies Committee (meets 3rd Tuesday of the month Sept - June between 9:00 - 11:00 a.m.)

  • 2 undergraduate student positions

Governance & Nominations Committee (meets 3rd Tuesday of the month Sept - June between 2:30 - 4:00 p.m.)

  • 1 elected Academic Council faculty member from the following Faculties:
    • Business & Information Technology
    • Education
    • Engineering & Applied Science
    • Energy Systems & Nuclear Science
    • Science
  • 1 student position

Honorary Degrees Committee (meets between 2-3 times per year)

  • 1 faculty position
  • 1 student position