

ACADEMIC COUNCIL **GOVERNANCE & NOMINATIONS COMMITTEE (GNC)**

Minutes of the Public Session of the Meeting of September 17, 2024

2:30-2:55 p.m., Videoconference

Attendees:

Steven Murphy (Chair) Robert Bailey Wendy Barber **Toba Bryant** Jessica Hoque Mehdi Hossein-Nejad

Lori Livingston Carolyn McGregor Scott Nokleby Jemma Tam **Shannon Vettor**

Regrets:

Staff:

Kirstie Ayotte Nicola Crow Krista Hester

1. Call to Order

The Chair called the meeting to order at 2:30 p.m. S. Murphy read aloud the Land Acknowledgement.

2. Agenda

Upon a motion duly made by C. McGregor and seconded by M. Hossein-Nejad, the Agenda was approved as presented.

3. Minutes of the Public Session of the Meeting of June 18, 2024

Upon a motion duly made by L. Livingston and seconded by R. Bailey, the June 18, 2024 Minutes were approved as presented.

4. Business Arising from the Minutes

None.

5. Chair's Remarks

The Chair welcomed members to the first GNC meeting of the academic year, thanking new and returning members for their service and highlighting the Committee's important role in University governance. He noted the success of recent orientation events with strong student participation and record-breaking attendance at Varsity games. The Chair also reminded members of National Day for Truth and Reconciliation on September 30th,

stressing the need to reflect on the legacy of residential schools and support Indigenous communities, with more information on campus activities to follow.

6. Inquiries & Communications

None

7. Governance

7.1 Faculty Council Membership Lists* (M)

The Chair presented the 2024-2025 Faculty Council Membership Lists as received. In response to a question why only two Faculty lists have been received, K. Ayotte clarified that the request goes out to Faculties to submit for the September deadline due to timing, some Faculties are not able to finalize October meeting. Members also noted that the ex-officio lists were out-dated and should be updated by the Faculties.

Motion:

Upon a motion duly made by S. Nokleby and seconded by C. McGregor, the Governance & Nominations Committee hereby recommends the following 2024-2025 Faculty Council membership lists, as presented, for approval by Academic Council:

- Faculty of Business and IT
- Mitch and Leslie Frazer Faculty of Education

Kirstie Ayotte, Assistant University Secretary